The tasty ugali/ corn cake

Hello lovely people. I’m delighted to have you here looking congenial and winsome.Keep up with that.

Tuesday evening with the heavy rain,my mind lingered to the days I used to bake and how it made merry. I tee-heed at the reflection because in my last post I talked about how baking is one of the ways to keep yourself busy during quarantine.

Baking is love made visible,I love baking.Now you know an itty-bitty thing about me😊.While surfing, I came across a very interesting type of cake. A corn cake. You mean ugali cake?Hold up! I could not shilly-shally but tell oneself this is it love.You got to bake this and I’m happy to share this recipe with you!

Let’s talk about that cake a little,yeah?Yes!This cake is vietnamese sweet, divine, moist,fluffy,dense,delicious,dainty…out of words.🤤

INGREDIENTS

1 cup maize/ corn flour

1 cup wheat flour

1 cup milk

1 cup cooking oil

4 eggs

1 cup sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tbsp vanilla essence

1 tsp cinnamon(optional)

1 tsp lemon zest(optional)

PROCEDURE

  1. Preheat the oven at 180°C/350°F and grease the baking tin.
  2. Sieve all the dry ingredients(maize flour,wheat flour,baking powder,cinnamon)
  3. Put eggs and sugar in a separate bowl and mix till fluffy.
  4. Add vanilla essence and lemon zest then mix for a few seconds.Add oil and milk and mix for a minute.
  5. Add the sifted dry ingredients in the bowl with wet ingredients and fold in.
  6. Bake for 35-45 minutes at 180°C/350F until a cake tester or toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Cool in the pan for about 10 minutes, then turn it out onto a cooling rack and cool completely.Once cooled,frost the cake and serve!

NOTES

Put the cake in the oven where you can see it.

Do not overfold when folding in.

And most of all,know your oven because of the different temperatures.

4 Replies to “The tasty ugali/ corn cake”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started